THE STARTING POINT

A simple article recounting a legend. An abandoned ramp lay in the middle of the Malaysian jungle. And JC Pieri, a specialist in outdoor and extreme videos, set the wheels in motion when he shared an article from rideukbmx.com. The timing was perfect, the Crosscall team didn’t waste a second and got its ambassador, Daniel Dhers, on board for a trip to the end of the world.

The Film

THE RIDERS OF THE LOST RAMP

RIDERS OF THE LOST RAMP

Daniel Dhers pensait avoir tout ridé... c'était sans compter cette rampe abandonnée au cœur de la jungle, à l'autre bout du monde. L'intégralité du trip #ridersofthelostramp 👉 crosscall.com/lostramp 🎥: JC Pieri Visual

Publié par Crosscall sur vendredi 19 mai 2017

THE LOCATION

THE DEVIL'S RAMP

Forgotten by all for nearly 30 years, the mystery was at its peak when our team came across Shah Alam. According to our local sources, this was where one of the world’s most mystical ramps lay in the middle of the jungle. By following the old tracks, Daniel Dhers soon discovered the holy grail.

THE RIDER

DANIEL DHERS

With 5 gold medals at the X-Games and 3 victories at the Dew Action Sport Tour, Daniel Dhers is one of the most decorated BMX Pro riders of all time. After riding the most beautiful parks on the planet, we offered him the challenge of the mysterious ramp. A challenge accepted by the rider, still unable to imagine what this place had in store for him …

THE CONDITIONS

TROPICAL JUNGLE

That Malaysia hides a jungle of such beauty is down to its unusual climate. Located in the Tropics, its humidity can rise to 92% and the average temperature is around 40°C in the west. Extreme conditions for an unprecedented challenge in the heart of the jungle.

THE PREPARATION

ROLLING UP OUR SLEEVES

By the time the team finds the ramp, nature has had time to reassert its power. It is only after several hours of intensive work under extreme heat that the riders finally manage to release the spot from its vegetation. The curves of the ramp are uncovered little by little to reveal the traces left by time.

THE GROUND

A MASSIVE CHALLENGE

The conditions are very different from those encountered in urban settings. To overcome the challenge of the ramp that he quickly nicknames “The Devil’s Ramp“, our champion Daniel Dhers must face humidity and stifling temperatures. The condition of the ramp means his every movement is planned to thwart the cracks at each attempt.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED

LEGITIMATE ICE PICK

Way out of his comfort zone, Daniel Dhers showed us that no challenge is insurmountable when you push your limits. It is with courage and perseverance that the tricks gradually start to come together and he manages to tame the beast with a beautiful Ice Pick under the admiring eyes of the riders.

END OF THE TRIP

UNFORGETTABLE MOMENTS

The adventure ends under a deluge of rain. The perfect opportunity for Daniel Dhers to get out his TREKKER-X3 and capture these moments with the whole team. Successfully taming the Devil Ramp has been more than a sporting adventure, it has been a human endeavour that won’t be forgotten in a hurry.

THE SLIDES IN IMAGES

THE EQUIPMENT

TREKKER-X3

Daniel Dhers was equipped with the latest model from the CROSSCALL range, the TREKKER-X3, offering a range of sensors to analyse and understand all terrains. To access all the data collected by the telephone, CROSSCALL has developed the X3 SENSORS app, embedded natively on all TREKKER-X3s.

DISCOVER THE TREKKER-X3



Copyright © CROSSCALL 2017. All Rights Reserved

L'ORIGINE

Un simple article qui diffuse la légende. Il y aurait, en Malaisie, une rampe abandonnée au milieu de la jungle. C’est JC Pieri, spécialiste des vidéos outdoor et extrêmes qui allume la mèche en nous partageant l’article du rideukbmx.com. Le timing est parfait, l’équipe Crosscall n’hésite pas une seconde et embarque son ambassadeur Daniel Dhers, pour un trip au bout du monde.

Le Film

THE RIDERS OF THE LOST RAMP

RIDERS OF THE LOST RAMP

Daniel Dhers pensait avoir tout ridé... c'était sans compter cette rampe abandonnée au cœur de la jungle, à l'autre bout du monde. L'intégralité du trip #ridersofthelostramp 👉 crosscall.com/lostramp 🎥: JC Pieri Visual

Publié par Crosscall sur vendredi 19 mai 2017

Le Lieu

LA RAMPE DU DIABLE

Oublié de tous depuis près de 30 ans, le mystère est à son comble quand notre équipe découvre Shah Alam. Selon nos sources locales, c’est là que se cache au beau milieu de la jungle, l’une des rampes les plus mystiques au monde. C’est en suivant les vieilles pistes que Daniel Dhers découvre bientôt le graal.

Le Rider

DANIEL DHERS

Pro rider BMX, Daniel Dhers, est l’un des plus médaillés de sa discipline avec 5 médailles d’or aux X-Games et 3 victoires au Dew Action Sport Tour. Après avoir ridé les plus beaux parcs de la planète, nous lui avons proposé d’aller défier la rampe mystérieuse. Le challenge accepté par le rider, encore loin d’imaginer ce que ce spot lui réserve …

Les Conditions

LA JUNGLE TROPICALE

Si la Malaisie cache une jungle d’une telle beauté, c’est grâce à son climat hors norme. Située dans la zone des Tropiques, son taux d’humidité peut monter jusqu’à 92% et la température moyenne avoisine les 40°C dans l’Ouest. Des conditions extrêmes pour relever un défi sans précédent en pleine jungle.

La Préparation

ON REMONTE LES MANCHES

Lorsque que l’équipe découvre la rampe, la nature a eu le temps de reprendre ses droits. C’est seulement après plusieurs heures de travail intensif et sous une chaleur accablante que les riders arrivent enfin à libérer le spot de sa végétation. Les courbes de la rampe se dévoilent petit à petit pour laisser apparaître les traces laissées par le temps.

Le Terrain

UN DÉFI DE TAILLE

Les conditions sont bien différentes de celles que l’on peut rencontrer en milieu urbain. Pour dompter la rampe qu’il surnomme très vite ‘’The Devil’s Ramp’’, notre champion Daniel Dhers doit faire face à l’humidité et la température étouffante. L’état de la rampe l’oblige à anticiper tous ses mouvements en déjouant les fissures à chaque tentative.

Mission Accomplie

ICE PICK LÉGITIME

En sortant de sa zone de confort, Daniel Dhers nous a démontré qu’aucun challenge n’est insurmontable en repoussant ses limites. C’est à force de courage et de persévérance que les tricks rentrent peu à peu et qu’il réussit à dompter la bête avec un Ice Pick de toute beauté sous les yeux des riders pleins d’admiration.

Fin du Trip

INSTANTS INOUBLIABLES

L’aventure se termine sous un déluge de pluie. L’occasion parfaite pour Daniel Dhers de sortir son TREKKER-X3 et immortaliser ces instants avec toute l’équipe. Plus qu’une aventure sportive, réussir à dompter la Rampe du Diable a été une expérience humaine qu’il n’est pas prêt d’oublier.

Les coulisses en images

L’équipement

TREKKER-X3

Daniel Dhers était équipé du dernier né de la gamme CROSSCALL, le TREKKER-X3 qui propose de nombreux capteurs afin d’analyser et comprendre tous les terrains. Pour accéder à toutes les données récoltées par le téléphone, CROSSCALL a développé l’application X3 SENSORS, embarquée nativement sur tous les TREKKER-X3.

DÉCOUVRIR LE TREKKER-X3



 

Copyright © CROSSCALL 2017. Tous droits réservés