Inside the apps of a high-mountain guide

APPS

ALEX PITTIN

After 15 years of competition skiing in the French Team, the born-and-bred Chamionard has now turned to steep-slope skiing and mountain climbing. By doing so he joins the world’s boardsport élite, including our ambassadors Xavier De Le Rue and Aurélien Ducroz. He also appears on the “50° North” web series along with his sidekick and high-mountain guide Tony Lamiche, famous for his skills in this area. Being every day in the mountains the ACTION-X3 is obviously part of his equipment. But what’s inside a guide’s smartphone and what are the apps they use? Here’s the answer.

IPHIGÉNIE

«I use my phone especially for maps. With the Iphigénie app, there’s a function that displays slopes of more than 30°. That way I can go for the safest option and follow the right direction.

Usually, when I go to the mountains and start with 100% battery, my phone displays 70% battery at the end of the day after using GPS and data. Although I always carry the X-POWER as well, it’s pretty handy to see that your phone is not running out of charge fast and that low temperatures are not an issue.

Sometimes I record my own route, in particular when I’m on glaciers to identify ice cracks or to orientate myself through the fog. I tend to use this function more in the summer. Landmarks are different and you can easily end up finding yourself in a cloud layer.”

FAT MAP

“It’s a good tool I use frequently with Aurélien Ducroz. It produces 3D versions of mountain faces which helps you see where you’re supposed to pass through and work your way in and out of a couloir, for instance. It’s easier for you to get an idea.”

WEATHER APPS

“I use several apps and websites to compare different weather models: Weather Pro, Snowforecast, Météociel and Météo Cham. This way I can cross-check all weather forecasts to see if they’re all going in the same direction and I can also determine what spot I’ll go for based on what trip I have in mind.”

STRAVA

“I use it when I’m road-biking in the summer and also for my own tracking during training”.

gear used

Les apps d’un aspirant guide de haute-montagne

APPS

ALEX PITTIN

Après 15 ans de ski de compétition en équipe de France, ce chamoniard pure souche se tourne vers le ski de pente raide et l’alpinisme. Il accompagne et côtoie l’élite du monde de la glisse, à commencer par nos ambassadeurs Xavier De Le Rue et Aurélien Ducroz. Il s’illustre aussi dans la websérie « 50° North » qu’il tourne avec son acolyte et guide de haute-montagne, Tony Lamiche, connu pour ses compétences dans le milieu. Tous les jours en montagne, l’ACTION-X3 fait inévitablement partie de son équipement. Mais qu’il y a t-il dans le smartphone d’un « guidos » et quelles sont les applications qu’il utilise, la réponse ci-dessous.

IPHIGÉNIE

« J’utilise surtout mon téléphone pour la carto. Avec l’app Iphigénie, il y a un mode qui affiche les pentes de plus de 30°. Ça me permet de naviguer au moins exposé en suivant le bon cap.
En général, quand je pars en montagne avec le téléphone à 100%, ma batterie affiche 70% à la fin de la journée en ayant utilisé le GPS et la data. Même si j’ai toujours la X-POWER en plus, c’est plutôt pratique de voir que ton téléphone ne se décharge pas à vue d’œil et qu’il ne craint pas les températures négatives.
J’enregistre parfois mes tracés, notamment sur les glaciers pour repérer les crevasses ou me diriger dans le brouillard. Je me sers plus de cette fonction en été. Les repères sont différents et tu as vite fait de te retrouver dans une couche nuageuse. »

FAT MAP

« C’est un bon outil que j’utilise souvent avec Aurélien Ducroz. Elle modélise les faces en 3D, ce qui te permet de voir par où passer, quelle est l’entrée ou la sortie d’un couloir par exemple. C’est plus facile pour te faire une idée. »

LES APPS METEO

« J’utilise plusieurs apps et sites web pour comparer les différents modèles météo : Weather Pro, Snowforecast, Météociel et Météo Cham. Ça me permet de voir si toutes les prévisions vont dans le même sens ou pas et quel spot je vais privilégier en fonction de la sortie que je souhaite faire. »

STRAVA

« Je m’en sers en vélo de route l’été, en tracking perso pour les entrainements ».

équipement utilisé

vous aimerez aussi :

 
 

Copyright © CROSSCALL 2018. Tous droits réservés